Simple Fresh Home-made Soup from the Fridge and Farmer’s Market.

wpid-20140601_124006.jpg Ready to pack up for Lunches. I filled 5 Ceramic  Soup Cups perfectly. Like these:

wpid-20140606_175439.jpgSorry for the blurry pic  😦   but you get the idea.

wpid-20140601_111715.jpgFarmer’s Market Veggies ready for Soup. Asparagus, Fresh Peas(I shucked them myself…. LOL….Really!),  Summer Squash(aka Patty Pan),  Spring Onions(aka Scallions).  I also added Kohlrabi, Potato, Carrot and the Bulb of the Spring Onions.

wpid-20140601_111651.jpgLeft over Steak from the other evening.  Potato, Carrots and Spring Onions.  Sautéed in Grape-seed Oil. Cook til tender.

wpid-20140601_113539.jpgLooks good already.  After I cooked the base Veggies and Meat.  I added the rest of the Veggies, some Water and a V-8.

Why V-8?   For  a few reasons:

#1-Tomatoes aren’t in Season

 #2- I can’t find my favorite Vegetable Broth

#3- I don’t cook with Salt and this Soup was REALLY sweet. Meaning  it needed another level of  taste/flavor. To open up  It’s WOW. Remember it’s missing  Tomatoes.

The fresh local veggies seem to be extreme;y sweet this year.  Not sure why.  But, I like it!!!

Remember    “Recipes are Road Maps. Make them your own”

Til next time….Enjoy!!!!!

Play with this recipe as you have seen me do over the years. The idea and base are Simple.

Can't wait to hear from you

