Sauce making…….

Posted: 14/11/2013 in Farmer's Market Finds, FYI, Gluten-Free, Techniques, Vegan, Zen Kitchen
Tags:

By special request more Cheesy Dishes.
image

It has been awhile since I have made a Traditional Cheese Sauce. So, I decided why not. I am a more than competent Sauce and Gravy maker. The only problem we don’t particularly like Gravy. Which translates to being a little out of practice.

image

I washed, trimmed and lightly steamed the Broccoli and Cauliflower.

image

I use a small Double-Boiler to make my sauces. I also prefer a small Wooden Whisk. They aren’t easy to find, but so worth it.
image

.

Cheesy  Sauce

In a  Double-boiler over moderate heat, melt the butter. Reduce the heat to low, add the flour and a pinch of Garlic, and whisk until both are incorporated and the mixture turns golden brown, about 2 minutes. Raise the heat to moderate and add the milk, whisking constantly, until a smooth sauce forms (the sauce should be thick and glossy, but still runny), about 5 minutes. (If the sauce is too thick, gradually whisk in additional milk until the desired consistency is achieved.) Add 1 cup of the grated cheese or more and whisk until melted, about 1 minute.

I have made this sauce using various liquid other than Milk. I have used Beer, White Wine and Champagne to name a few. I also noticed when using this sauce for Veggies a dash of Nutmeg is terrific.

Remember  “Recipes are road maps. Make them your own.”

til next time….enjoy

Can't wait to hear from you

