Pasta Salad……

Posted: 08/10/2013 in Dairy-free, FYI, Playing with your food, Recipes, Techniques, Vegan, Zen Kitchen
Tags: , , ,

I washed, chopped up and steamed some of the terrific finds from the Farmer’s Market.

image

Broccoli, Sweet Peas, Summer Squash, a couple small Carrots and Sweet Peppers After the Veggies were al dente (to the tooth) I added a few Heirloom Cherry Tomatoes and Italian Salad Dressing(we like Newman’s Family Recipe Italian for bottled). While it was still hot.I tossed it all together and placed a lid on the pan so it  could talk.

image

While this was talking in the pan. I boiled water and cooked a box of decent quality Rotini Pasta. Let me explain. As you know I cook for My Guy’s Parents on the weekends a few meals for them during the week. They are extremely set it their ways. So, I don’t rock the boat with fancy things. Like Quinoa Pasta(which we love) or Rice Pasta or Whole Wheat Pasta. I’m wanting them to eat fresh-yes, but also things they like and are accustomed to. Please use whatever/whichever you Pasta you prefer.

The Veggies I used were what I had in the Fridge. Play with it. Artichoke Hearts, Olives, Mushrooms, Cauliflower…you get the idea. I love mine served with some sort of Salad. Whether it be Spinach, Kale or any dark leaf combo you choose.

Til next time….remember “Recipes are Road Maps. Make them your own”

Can't wait to hear from you

