Simply Empanadas……..

Posted: 12/09/2013 in Playing with your food, Recipes, Techniques, Weekday lunches, Zen Kitchen
Tags: , , ,

My friend, Jessie, messaged me last night and said she was making Empanadas.  She’s a terrific cook, but this still seemed a little out of the ordinary.  Once I saw the picture and she sent me the ingredient list, though, I thought: Neat!  A simple way to have a favorite treat of mine and my kid! These aren’t your  traditional Empanadas, but they sure look and sound yummy! I really think every region of the World has a simple, savory, portable  YUM.  Empanada/Tamale/ Pasty/Papusa/Knish to name a few.

So, here’s her take on an Empanada.

wpid-IMG_1792.jpg

Empanadas made simple

Ingredients:
1 chicken breast
1/2 onion
2 peppers
1 cup mushrooms
1 avocado
1 lime
2 Pillsbury ready-made pie crust

– Slice chicken into medium to long strips, throw in skillet, squeeze 1/2 of lime and cook over medium heat.  When done, put in large mixing bowl.
– Slice up onions (I used a sweet one), peppers, mushrooms (and any other veggies that sound appealing), and sauté with 1 TBSP of Olive Oil (I used lemon olive oil). When done, put in large mixing bowl with chicken.
-Cut up an avocado and add to chicken/vegetable mixture.
-On a clean, flat surface, roll out pie crust. I used a cereal bowl to cut out my empanadas, but you can use what ever you like (you can even use a small glass to make small, appetizer size empanadas). I got 3 empanada shells out of each pie crust, but used the excess dough to make another (for a total of 7). Add a spoon full of chicken/vegetable mixture to the empanada shell, press the edges together, and place on a greased cookie sheet.
– Bake according to the pie crust directions (Pillsbury calls for 10-12 mins at 450).

Jessie’s Notes on this recipe: I may play with the crust by either making my own dough or using canned biscuits. I loved the citrus flavor the lime gave, but I may play with flavors as well. I will probably mix up the kind of vegetables I use and I may add beans. While I like the idea of making these for an appetizer, I am currently taking larger versions to work for my lunches! I find its a great way to get a hot meal with out having to worry about excessive calories because almost everything is fresh! This recipe is kind of like the lunch/dinner equivalent of an omelette: you can come up with endless possibilities and just have to find your favorite one!

My take: I will be making these. I will be playing with the ingredients. Which are endless. A Leftover dream come true. I can see making them with pretty much anything you have hanging around that isn’t enough to make a substantial munch.

Ok, some examples I can think of off the type of my head:
– Salmon, Potato and Scallion(Green Onion)
– Pot Roast with the veggies
– Barbeque-Chicken, Pork, Beef ??????
– Corned Beef and Cabbage
– Grilled Veggies
– Stir Fry

Ok, so I can go on and on. The list of what you could put in these is truly endless. And my examples are only savory.  Sorry, I don’t have a big sweet-tooth.

Til next time….I’m going to my room 🙂

Can't wait to hear from you

