Simply Marinara…….

Posted: 20/08/2013 in Dairy-free, Gluten-Free, Playing with your food, Recipes, Techniques, Vegan, Zen Kitchen
Tags: ,

I know there is controversy regarding canned Tomatoes. There is controversy regarding all we consume. I work on making simple non-packaged versions of the food we love.. Not extreme healthy foods all the time. But I do my best. I use the freshest and the best I can find. Meaning when an ingredient is in season. Of course I am going to use it. When it isn’t I will do my best to steer you to a healthy substitute.

Simply Marinara

1/4 Cup Olive oil

3 Garlic Cloves

1 lg can Good Tomatoes- I use Sodium free. I like Petite Diced.

or 5 or more cups of fresh

a splash of Agave, Honey or even Maple Syrup ( I know I only had Maple Syrup on Sunday)

ok,  a pinch of Sugar would work

2 fresh sprigs of Basil or dried Basil to taste. Let it simmer for a bit and then taste and finish the seasoning to your taste.

I don’t cook with Salt so you might want a pinch of Salt.

Simple Marinara – variations are limitless.

Now, that you have a base  you can play add Mushrooms, Sweet Peppers, Onion, Sausage, Ground Meat, Meatballs, Tempeh or just enjoy it as is. This sauce can be used for everything from Spaghetti, Stuffed Peppers, Baked Spaghetti Squash just to name a few.

til next time……..I am going to my room

Can't wait to hear from you

