Soup……….

Posted: 29/07/2013 in Dairy-free, Playing with your food, Recipes, Zen Kitchen
Tags: , , , ,

imageWe all know by now My Guy is a Soup Monster. Every weekend I make some kind of Soup. May it be a Simple Tomato Soup or a leftovers to the rescue Veggie Soup. I will write more on Leftovers to the rescue Soup the next time I make one.  I have decided after a conversation with my Guy. That it would be a really important good idea to start cooking a few meals a week for his Parents. I always attempt to send something over on a weekly basis, but now it is going to be structured. His parents just don’t eat. They have lost their want to prepare and enjoy a meal. I apologize for not having pictures of the things I threw together Sunday afternoon. Pictured is the finished 17 Bean and Barley Soup. Before you ask “Yes, it has meat in it”. I had a Ham bone in the freezer. That made it simple. 2 birds with one stone -LOL. Soup for my Monster and a couple meals for his Parents. I also made a fresh Cucumber and Tomato Salad, I Grilled up 3 Boneless Skinless Chicken Breasts and Rice.

My Kid and My Guy were going to go over to clean up the front yard, so I had convenient free timely delivery. I will be writing more on this as we go along. I am going to work on making larger portions. So I can pack it up for delivery. My Guys are awesome!!!!

17 Bean Soup

1 Pkg Beans or a Bean soup mix. I had a bag of Trader Joe’s 17 Bean in the Pantry.

1 or more Carrot chopped

1 stalk of Celery chopped

1 Tomato chopped

A Ham Bone, or some Ham, Bacon or ?????? or not.

I simmered the Ham Bone in Water for about 45 minutes. Added some f the Celery and the Tomato. Cooked for a a bit and then added the Beans. Stirred well added more water to cover plus an inch. Placed a lid on my soup pot and lowered the temperature to a low simmer. It is done when the Beans are done. I wish I could give you a better time line. Maybe an hour or longer. I tend to forget about it so it always cooks for a few hours.

Til next time I am going to my room 🙂

Can't wait to hear from you

