Burke Farmer’s Market

Posted: 05/05/2012 in Farmer's Market Finds, Zen Kitchen
Tags: , , , ,

Ok, I indulged.
Bonjour la Parisienne was once again at their finest. Marco did it again. They had the breads I depend on… Croissants, baquettes, sliced hearth bread and rosemary focaccia and so some much more. I use the focaccia to make my Farmer’s Market Pizza. Recipe in tomorrows post.
Fresh Crunch is new to the market. Had pickled charred asparagus (I bought a jar), various wonderful pickles, pickled beets with ginger and citrus, pickled cauliflower, dilly beans (green beans) and pickled baby carrots. I am sure I missed a pickle.
The salsas at Salsa Las Glorias (new to the market also) yummy oh so yummy. Pico de Gallo with Habenaro, my favorite. Finally got my guy to try tomatillos. And yes, I bought him the salsa! Being a traditional Mexican cook these are the best! When I don’t want to, nor have the time, I am buying my salsas and pico de Gallo from them. Now to see if I can talk them into making a Mole’ ?
Now for Blue Ridge, my yogurt stop. Feta, mozzarella, butter, greek and other yogurts. They have a new cheese. Please try it. It is called Burreta. And yes I had to ask. It is a 8 ounce ball of mozzarella flattened with a creamy ricotta spread on it and then rolled up ready for slicing. So worth trying.
Produce; I bought asparagus, spring onions, strawberries (yes this is early, and they are perfect), lettuces: redhead, butter and a beautiful head lettuce, also sweet potatoes.
The plants were also beautiful. I bought black basil, rosemary, and a patio tomatoe plant.

Can’t wait to see what I create with these wonderful ingredients.

Can't wait to hear from you

